Listen Live

HomeNewsCity of Nanaimo releases official election results

City of Nanaimo releases official election results

The election has come to an official end, and the results have been finalized.

Mayor Leonard Krog has been re-elected for another four years in office.

“[I believe] we had understood what the issues were, we did what we could, we had brought decorum and good governance back to Nanaimo and that was important. And it got rewarded,” said Krog after the polls closed on October 15th. “I think the turnout overall was down from last time, probably closer to 30% [of the populace voting] compared to 39%. Again, I think that reflects general satisfaction, people weren’t motivated by anger or frustration or real disappointment to go out and vote.”

Paul Manly, Sheryl Armstrong (Incumbent), Ian Thorpe (Incumbent), Ben Geselbracht (Incumbent), Erin Hemmens (Incumbent), Janice Perrino, Tyler Brown (Incumbent), Hilary Eastmure, have been elected to council.

“This election saw a turnout of 18,664 ballots cast,” said Chief Election Officer Sheila Gurrie. “Thank you to all members of our community who voted in the advance polls and on General Election Day.”

- Advertisement -

A list of how many votes each candidate received is available here.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading