The candidate nomination period for the Nanaimo by-election closed today.

Elections BC is reporting there are six candidates representing six registered political parties.

They are the Conservatives Justin Greenwood, the BC Liberal Party’s Tony Harris, the BC NDP’s Sheila Malcolmson, Michele Ney is running under the Green Party banner, The Vancouver Island Party’s Robin Mark Richardson and Bill Walker is the Libertarian candidate.

The by-election will take place January 30th.